Caprice in A Minor - Wieniawski - Stephanie Chase
00:00 / 00:00

“Bach and The Music of the Spheres:

The Sonatas and Partitas at 300”


In celebration of their 300th anniversary in 2020, Stephanie Chase presents compelling programs of Johann Sebastian Bach’s (1685-1750) masterful compositions for the solo violin.

Her captivating interpretations are formed through extensive experience playing period violin, many performances of these works, and research into Bach’s era and sound world.  In her comments she explores the ideas of pulse and tempo in the early 18th century, the influences of French Baroque dance suites, rhetoric, and tempo relationships derived from the intervallic proportions ascribed to Pythagoras and Ptolemy. 

Subscribe now to view this series

“The soloist was the superb violinist Stephanie Chase, who played with elegance, dexterity, rhythmic vitality and great imagination. This was a Classical performance in the best sense: clear-headed, straightforward, intelligent”

Boston Globe

"'Masterworks You've Never Heard' was the title of the violinist Stephanie Chase and the pianist Sara Davis Buechner's delightful recital...This impressive duo gave beautiful accounts of unfamiliar works...For any music lover with a sense of adventure, (their) program was a wonderful discovery."  

- Anthony Tommasini, The New York Times

January 13, 2017

“A supreme musical performer whose complete virtuosity enables her to ennoble everything she plays.”
– Byron Belt, Newhouse Newspapers

The Violin Channel featured Stephanie in its 20 Questions!

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube
  • SoundCloud Social Icon


© 2020 Stephanie Chase